Quake3 1.32e

Test releases and related discussion.

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby ZerTerO » 2017-05-11 11:14:18

09-May-2017:

[...]
* Add \in_forceLayout - to use EN/US keyboard layout not depending from current language settings, enabled by default
[...]

Please, please disable this by default. I come from germany and took a long time to switch this option off in the console. Why does it have to be activated by default? Why is this cvar needed? Not many people in the world have a keyboard with EN/US keyboard layout... :(
ZerTerO = Birth - Grow - Play Quake
User avatar
ZerTerO
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014-10-14 05:50:14
Location: Germany

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-05-11 16:44:23

ZerTerO wrote:09-May-2017:
Please, please disable this by default. I come from germany and took a long time to switch this option off in the console. Why does it have to be activated by default? Why is this cvar needed? Not many people in the world have a keyboard with EN/US keyboard layout... :(
What layout you have and what keys is not working properly for you? I can fix that AZERTY stuff (temporary disabled that) but I need some feedback.

I will explain why I enabled it by default: it fixes bind inconsistency on windows i.e. when you type 'bind a +moveleft' on azerty layout - when later you press 'a' - it will execute 'q' key bind because bind keys actually (if on-sceen keybard simulation is correct) connected to physical scancdodes and 'a' azerty key is 'q' by its scancode.
With new behavior you always have constant physical bind layout so it will work with any keyboard settings, it also fixes 'dead keys' which comes with non-US/EN layouts
Cyrax
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby ZerTerO » 2017-05-11 17:49:40

The most important examples :

/ in GER is & in ENG
_ in GER is ? in ENG
/ in ENG is - in GER
_ in ENG is ? in ENG

The german layout is QWERTZ. The Problem is: If I want to enter this here: "/in_forceLayout 0" then I have to press these buttons "-in?forceLazout 0". And that is very confusing. With the latest version of Quake3 1.32e has all worked perfectly. Had also no problem with English systems too. I do not understand why this is now standard. This will confuse many people without EN layout.
ZerTerO = Birth - Grow - Play Quake
User avatar
ZerTerO
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014-10-14 05:50:14
Location: Germany

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-05-11 19:14:51

This is an attempt to fix 32 dead keys on RU/UA keyboard layouts, for example. It is possible to fix your problems by changing just one directMap() function but I will need your feeback to test experimental binaries
Cyrax
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby ZerTerO » 2017-05-17 07:25:11

If i start a map with missing textures, then i get with quake3.exe some error messages in the console. I don't get this messages with quake3e.exe.
ZerTerO = Birth - Grow - Play Quake
User avatar
ZerTerO
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014-10-14 05:50:14
Location: Germany

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby jammydodger » 2017-05-31 21:12:31

two problems:

#1 - dynamiclights on looks like this: http://imgur.com/87D5l6h

#2 - in_minimize on is nice, but it only works wtih "0" key, if so, it has the side effect where I can not set things like r_dynamiclights 0, as the key doesn't register whilst it is in use, which makes it horrible to have on.
jammydodger
 

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-06-12 12:55:07

#1 - check r_dlightMode is not 0
#2 - should work as expected, make sure you're using double quotes to specify complex hotkeys
Cyrax
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby crs9683 » 2017-07-15 09:26:25

Cyrax wrote:
crs9683 wrote:Are there any advantages in using Q3 1.32e over IoQuake3 binary?
copy-paste from ESR thread:
- significant memory usage reduction for dedicated servers (2x-6x times) + reduced CPU usage
- reworked dedicated console for win32


So this reduce cpu and memory usage for dedicated servers means that server operation should be smoother to play on compared to id's unmodifed 1.32c and ioquake3? i'm curious about the benefit of that.
crs9683
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-07-26 05:15:08

crs9683 wrote:So this reduce cpu and memory usage for dedicated servers means that server operation should be smoother to play on compared to id's unmodifed 1.32c and ioquake3? i'm curious about the benefit of that.
Yes, a bit. But this is related only to snapshots, other changes like faster virrual machine (QVM) may provide more significant difference.

Btw if you want some live conversation - feel free to join https://discordapp.com/invite/X3Exs4C
Cyrax
 
Posts: 104
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby cmdrr » 2017-11-02 10:47:11

Hi, I stumbeled across your project when I came back to Q3A after a 10 years abstinence, grabbing it recently on a GOG sale. And I must say, it really makes a huge difference if one uses your or the last official version from id. Thanks a lot for your great work!

However when playing the campaign, I encountered a problem, which occurs in single player mode when an arena is restarted manually. The problem can be reproduced as follows:

Choose Single Player, select the first arena, and start playing on any difficulty but the first. Leave the room through the portal and wait to see if your opponent is attacking you. Normally it should. Now, press Esc and choose "Restart Arena". Proceed as before. This time, Crash is just running around and not attempting to shoot at you anymore. The problem does not vanish with subsequent restarts of the arena. Only leaving it and starting the campaign anew helps. It seems, that after the first restart, the difficulty level is reset to the first one "I can win", where bots do not attack.

After installing "quake3-1.32e", the problem occurs with any arena using any server, be it the default one (quake3.exe, v1.32) or the new ones (quake3e.exe, quake3e.x64.exe, v1.32e). It seems to be connected somehow to the additional file "pak8a.pk3", since removing it fixes the problem.

Any ideas?
cmdrr
 

PreviousNext

Return to Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest