Quake3 1.32e

Test releases and related discussion.

Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2010-12-16 20:44:14

This is improved client for playing Quake 3 Arena mods, introduces many fixes and improvements comparing to last official ID's 1.32c version and with just one little issue (no PB support)

Can be downloaded from http://www.edawn-mod.org/binaries/quake ... 170422.zip
Permanent link to latest binary: http://www.edawn-mod.org/binaries/quake3-1.32e.zip
Sources now located in public Quake3e github repository

outdated - Current multiview patch
Multiview binaries will be not built in near future due to incoming server code changes

List of major changes/features:
* 64-bit support
* many security, performance and bug fixes
* much improved autocompletion (map, demo, exec and other commands)
* unlagged raw(win32) mouse input
* \in_minimize - hotkey for minimize/restore main window (direct replacement for Q3Minimizer)
* reduced CPU power usage (com_maxfps+com_yieldCPU, suitable for notebooks)
* reduced hunk memory usage for dedicated servers
* fast client downloads (native + http/ftp/smb redirection)
* ALSA support

Changelog

22-Apr-2017:
Fix: crash caused by long filenames inside pk3 files
Fix: demo filename truncation
Fix: skip gamedata bounds check for dlls

21-Apr-2017:
Add: unlagged input for win32 mouse
Add: \in_lagged to simulate old behavior for win32/raw mouse
Chg: clamp \com_yieldCPU values to [0,1]
Chg: increase max allowed \r_displayRefresh value to 250

16-Apr-2017:
Fix: switch back to old mod if downloading new mod on \connect has been failed
Chg: use q3config_server.cfg as config file for dedicated server binaries and do not write key bindings to that as well
Chg: increase SHADER_MAX_VERTEXES from 1000 to 1536
Misc: reduce CPU usage on server side

09-Apr-2017:
Add: \r_mapGrayScale
Chg: alphabetically sort cvars for \writeconfig, will affect \cvarlist too
Fix: renderer crash on negative \r_fullscreen values
Misc: add SSE math to QVM, speed optimizations

02-Apr-2017:
Add: backport and use alternative huffman encoder from uberdemotools - means reduced CPU usage on server-side
Chg: avi segments naming scheme to "filename-NN.avi" instead of corrupting extension by '_' suffix
Chg: max avi file size to 4GB
Fix: black video frames with \r_faskSky 1
Fix: crash on video recording
Fix: reversed timescale during video recording
Fix: check for ZIP archive signature before writing any received data
Fix: several bugs in video recording code

24-Mar-2017:
Add: new snapshot system with reduced CPU/Hunk memory usage on dedicated servers

full changelog >>//www
Cyrax
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-17 15:17:35

As mentioned in the ESR thread http://www.esreality.com/?a=post&id=2036991#pid2036991,
./quake3e +connect xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxxxxx
puts quake3e in an infinite loop while loading the map, like constantly doing a vid_restart.
Tested on 2 OSP servers.

System is OpenSuSE 11.3, i386 with ATI drivers (fglrx)

Oh, and don't forget to release the source before the GPL-zealots get mad at you:P
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2011-02-18 09:17:54

Thanks for report ;) Its OSP-specific behavior, however fix is ready, updated zip will be posted a bit later with other small fixes.
Source file named quake3-1.32e-src.7z and located in the same directory
Cyrax
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-18 13:37:07

Cool, thx. Stupid me ofc did not check against other mods, shame on me:)
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2011-02-18 19:53:04

Archive updated, needs your feedback :)
Cyrax
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-18 21:14:06

Hmm, link still seems to point to the old one (md5sum is the same). Source, however, is there.
But maybe I'm too tired, will try again tomorrow:)
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-18 21:22:52

Compiled it, seems to be fixed, thx:D
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-22 20:12:10

I think I found another one. When started with:
./quake3e +set fs_game cpma
(latest release of CPMA) and then going to the demo browser via menu, only the pk3-ed demos are shown (four.dm_68 (baseq3), apheleon_cpm15.dm_68 (cpma)) and a few others.
So it seems to not look at baseq3/demos on the filesystem. ioquake3 works.
Again Linux x86 32bit as above.
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2011-02-23 19:07:06

LeopolD wrote:So it seems to not look at baseq3/demos on the filesystem.
Thanks for feedback, fixed :) Also added \r_mode -2 - sets current desktop mode (just like in QL)
Cyrax
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby LeopolD » 2011-02-24 20:23:40

Cyrax wrote:Thanks for report ;) Its OSP-specific behavior, however fix is ready, updated zip will be posted a bit later with other small fixes.
Source file named quake3-1.32e-src.7z and located in the same directory

Arrgh, didn't test proberly. Now the vid_restart (at least not looping:) happens after warmup count down is finished.
LeopolD
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2011-02-17 15:13:00

Next

Return to Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron