Quake3 1.32e

Test releases and related discussion.

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-01-05 17:27:29

IrrelevantSpy wrote:Are these versions of 1.32e DDoS protected?, has it been tested?.
I'm never experienced such problems. However as long as it is engine flaw an you can reproduce attack - it can be fixed.
IrrelevantSpy wrote:IOQ3 offers an option to use a different networking protocol (71), not sure if this works though.
IIRC dm_71 is for preventing UDP-spofing on LANs, not DDoS
Cyrax
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby IrrelevantSpy » 2017-01-05 22:38:19

Cyrax wrote:
IrrelevantSpy wrote:IIRC dm_71 is for preventing UDP-spofing on LANs, not DDoS


That might be what was happening.
It was taking huge amounts of bandwidth (all of my ISP's upstream), and affected other servers on the same rack.

This attack was not just LAN based. and seemed to act like a Botnet where innocent users became the attacker.
Using alternative game ports (ie, 30320) would not work,they'd still attack on that.

Then IOQ3 introduced an improved network protocol (in their test builds) but I haven't found if this actually helps deters the attacks. I wouldn't want to put a server box at risk under a false sense or security.
IrrelevantSpy
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-01-05 14:10:02

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-01-06 07:42:43

IrrelevantSpy wrote:innocent users became the attacker.
What kind of traffic they generate: connectionless packets etc.? I need to know what kind of data causing this or at which stage attack is coming. So I will know what part of engine should be patched. For example I can try to backport this: https://github.com/JACoders/OpenJK/pull/832
Cyrax
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby crs9683 » 2017-03-25 08:38:20

Are there any advantages in using Q3 1.32e over IoQuake3 binary?
crs9683
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-03-25 17:35:04

crs9683 wrote:Are there any advantages in using Q3 1.32e over IoQuake3 binary?
copy-paste from ESR thread:
- significant memory usage reduction for dedicated servers (2x-6x times) + reduced CPU usage
- no external dependencies, no SDL (and related regressions)
- native ALSA support for linux
- faster and safer QVM (Quake Virtual Machine) - means higher FPS, less lags
- reworked dedicated console for win32
- server auto-restart for long non-stop game series (no need for restart scripts at all)
- support for cpma/cnq3 color codes (8,9,a-z) in console
- unlagged raw mouse input (win32, enabled automatically for \in_mouse 1)
- \dlmap, \download - fast and easy map downloads from ws.q3df.org (by default)
- \cl_conColor [RRR GGG BBB AAA] - custom console color
- \in_minimize hotkey to fast minimize/restore (windows-only)
- \r_neatsky - nopicmip for skyboxes
- \r_ext_multisample 0|2|4|6|8 - multi-sample anti-aliasing
- \r_bloom
- \r_dlightMode 1|2 - new per-pixel dynamic lights, requires opengl 1.4 (radeon 8500+, FX5200+) - means it will work event on hardware from 2001
- \varfunc - advanced cvar modifier
- many other bugfixes and improvements
Dynamic lights compared: http://imgur.com/a/3MDMM
BTW, my fix for https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvename.c ... -2017-6903 is much more correct than in ioquake3
Cyrax
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby T^kon » 2017-04-02 19:57:02

Not that spectacular, but a Win32 build hard crashes if there is a q3config.cfg in baseq3 folder that was build by an IOQ3-client.

Example -> http://www.dm17.com/~sp/q3config.cfg
T^kon
 

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-04-09 11:45:54

T^kon wrote:Win32 build hard crashes if there is a q3config.cfg in baseq3 folder that was build by an IOQ3-client.
Thank you for report, will be fixed 8-)
Cyrax
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby ZerTerO » 2017-04-26 12:24:53

Great Work! I love it. What are the plans for the future?
ZerTerO = Birth - Grow - Play Quake
User avatar
ZerTerO
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2014-10-14 05:50:14
Location: Germany

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby casual player » 2017-04-28 23:58:45

in vanilla q3 and osp, color1/color2 doesnt seem to have any effect and rail color is always white.
casual player
 

Re: Quake3 1.32e

Postby Cyrax » 2017-04-30 09:53:21

ZerTerO wrote:Great Work! I love it. What are the plans for the future?
Thank you. Turn back multiview, use glsl for gamma and high-quality bloom, some QVM improvements
casual player wrote:in vanilla q3 and osp, color1/color2 doesnt seem to have any effect and rail color is always white.
Now fixed
Cyrax
 
Posts: 95
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

PreviousNext

Return to Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron