recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Ask us questions.

Moderator: Developers

recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Kuba » 2012-05-14 16:32:05

What are recommended net settings?

e.g.

\rate 25000
\snaps 40
\cl_maxpackets 125
\com_maxfps 125
\com_hunkMegs 128
\cl_timeNudge -20 ?

Should maxpackets be equal to maxfps?

My old config went corrupt, and edawn server
doesn't feel snappy anymore :(

(almost no long range air hits with rail)
Kuba
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-05-14 16:14:46

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby foksieloy » 2012-05-18 08:44:06

Get rid of the timenudge if your connection has more than some 40ms delay. That is most likely the cause of your "jitty" feeling since you probably lowered your buffer more than your connection can handle. Try -10 or 0.
User avatar
foksieloy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2010-12-13 18:39:11

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Cyrax » 2012-05-18 08:52:41

Should maxpackets be equal to maxfps?
Yes
\rate 25000
\snaps 40
\cl_maxpackets 125
\com_maxfps 125
\com_hunkMegs 128
\cl_timeNudge -20 ?

Its better to raize com_hunkMegs to 192 because big maps may require more memory
Also negative cl_timeNudge values makes things laggy for you
Cyrax
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Kuba » 2012-05-18 09:43:54

Ok, thanks for help. Looks like something on my system is capping fps on 60, so I have no choice, but reduce cl_maxpackets to 60 also, right?

* Yes, even with com_maxfps "0" and appropriate .drirc with in fact disabled vsync, something is capping fps on refresh rate with quake here still. I guess I will have to live with it.
Kuba
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-05-14 16:14:46

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby foksieloy » 2012-05-18 10:13:37

Most likely your GPU drivers.

Especially ATI was known for making this option hard to find.

Check your GPU display center, or however it is called, for a "sync framerate to refresh rate" option or "vsync" or something along those lines.

Some older ATI cards actually require you to edit registry to get rid of this.

Also, both nVidia and ATI have SEPERATE options for direct3d and openGL. That means even if you turned it off for direct3d it can still be on for openGL.
User avatar
foksieloy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2010-12-13 18:39:11

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Kuba » 2012-05-18 10:31:30

I somehow expected this reply... and should be clearer. I really appreciate you took time to reply.

But I'm quite... familiar with my system?

It's FreeBSD 9-STABLE with KMS patches and experimental xorg tree. Only thing that should control vblank (sync) is .drirc and
it's edited appropriately, other applications (as glxgears) doesn't show this problem. I'm quite wondering if this could me related to SDL, as I'm using ioquake3 trunk.
Kuba
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-05-14 16:14:46

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby foksieloy » 2012-05-18 12:19:17

Ah, didn't realize you are not on winzor.

Have you tried our executable? Source link is somehwere around here, you should have no trouble building it for freebsd.
User avatar
foksieloy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2010-12-13 18:39:11

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Cyrax » 2012-05-18 14:56:41

I'm also found that something is limiting Q3 framerate on my linux system with Radeon-HD5670 (xorg-server-1.11,mesa-8.0.2,linux-3.0.X), - it looks like forced vsync, also some screen tearing appears
Cyrax
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Kuba » 2012-05-18 18:13:48

If I ever will return to 32/64 mixed system, I will certainly try compiling your client :) For now, I'm on 64 bit pure system.
Kuba
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2012-05-14 16:14:46

Re: recommended net cfg for edawn ffa server?

Postby Cyrax » 2012-05-20 10:37:40

Found solution for fixing forced vsync :)
Create .drirc file in your home folder with following content:
Code: Select all
<device screen="0" driver="dri2">
   <application name="Default">
      <option name="vblank_mode" value="0" />
   </application>
</device>
Cyrax
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Next

Return to Contact

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron