[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file /includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
excessive dawn • View topic - Master server

Master server

Ask us questions.

Moderator: Developers

Master server

Postby crs9683 » 2011-08-09 21:34:23

Hi, I was wondering if you guys could update the Quake 3 1.32e files for windows/linux to point to a new master server. The current master server it points to is operated by idsoftware.

So, my friend and I setup a master server about two years ago for quake 3 and it's been up ever since then. I helped create this master server because idsoftware's master server is constantly getting abused with floods of fake servers in version 1.32 that all redirect to one server (which idsoftware won't do anything about it) and this makes it's harder to keep a server populated as many people still rely on the built-in game server browser.

I'd like to see this master server we created be put to better use since not many people know. I was thinking this community could help bring some light to its existence.
crs9683
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27

Re: Master server

Postby foksieloy » 2011-08-10 06:14:48

We have been planning on hosting our own master again (used to have it on old website).

Can you give more info on your own?
User avatar
foksieloy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2010-12-13 18:39:11

Re: Master server

Postby crs9683 » 2011-08-11 01:19:07

Well, we didn't create the software for the master server. It's powered by dpmaster from http://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/

I proposed the master server idea to Maverick (creator of noghost mod for quake 3) and it's been up since then. Basically this master server works just like the original master server from idsoftware. The only ways I know so far to view the list of servers in this master server is to compile a modified client from the quake 3 source code or create some kind of php code to query it.

You can read more about it from here:
http://forums.noghost.net/cgi-bin/ib/ik ... ter+server

Also, if you would like to see how a client can view this server, you can download an windows executable (I don't have a linux one):
http://q3renegade.com/files/quake3-1.32b.exe
crs9683
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27

Re: Master server

Postby Cyrax » 2011-08-11 08:46:40

I saw something related to dpmaster protocol in ioq3 trunk, will look at it when I will back home (few days)

IIRC sv_master1..sv_master5 cvars is not hardcoded so you can set its to any value you want
Cyrax
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 2010-12-13 19:03:22

Re: Master server

Postby crs9683 » 2011-08-12 02:44:20

crs9683
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27

Re: Master server

Postby foksieloy » 2011-08-12 06:29:41

There is no need to do it in engine source, it can also be done in mod source.
User avatar
foksieloy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 2010-12-13 18:39:11

Re: Master server

Postby crs9683 » 2011-08-12 07:53:18

Ah, I see. Thanks. I didn't know it could be done that way :) lol... I'm not a coder so I don't know much about what can be done with mods and such. If you guys choose to implement this into your mod or anything then that would be cool.
crs9683
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2010-12-14 23:11:27


Return to Contact

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron